So Lonely, All On My Owney

Well, I’m not lonely to be honest, but life in this hotel is less interesting without the kids around….to be even more honest, these students on the program aren’t “kids” in the literal sense, haha. In our school, the Chinese Language Program is like a close knit family, and every Fall semester a new shipment of “kiddies” come and start learning Mandarin and about Chinese culture. Three years ago, my classmates and I were the first class to start on the new and improved language program, so we went for the first summer semester with Dr. Shepherd, and we are technically the highest level of Chinese students in the school….so yeah we are KIND of treated as elders, and I look to the new students as younger siblings? Though most of them are my age, if not younger. Every time I mention how I am not (legally) able to drink the States still, there’s always an outburst of surprise here, I guess I’m PRETTY mature for my age 🙂

Anyways, I am at the hotel without the kids now because they left this morning at 8am on a tour bus and will be gone for the week! They will spend seven days driving through about 10 cities and hitting all of the important tourist places in Shandong Province. I can’t believe it’s already been two years since I embarked on this same exact trip. It will be hot, there are several mountains to climb, and almost no space on the bus, but I would do it again in a heartbeat. But, instead I am staying to spend this week working more closely with the second year students in Qingdao University. Good news though, Diana FINALLY changed her flight back to America from July 4th, to July 27th. So now we get to party it up in….SHANGHAI!! The pearl of the orient, the Paris of asia (well at least according to Wikipedia, which is never wrong) To be honest, I need to start looking online to find out what exactly is a “must see” in Shanghai. I mean when people talk about visiting China, it’s always about going to the Forbidden Palace, Great Wall, and Terracotta Soldiers….all of which I have already seen. I am really excited though, we are going to buy train tickets right when Diana gets back from her trip around Shandong. The price is really good too, it’s a ten-hour train ride and only going to cost around 309 RMB, living in China is amazing for my wallet. In America I feel like a pauper, but in China I get to live like a Queen!~ Anyways I will write more about plans for Shanghai and maybe about tomorrow’s exciting night out (Oh~lala), if it’s exciting enough. Until next time America.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. younginsatiablewanderlust-na
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 03:10:44

    Marhsa you keep me young! Keep doing your thing girl cuz when i get to korea i will be calling you to cry lol!
    -Wilna

    Reply

  2. Wee-Na
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 04:31:01

    yes, it will! we fidda be legends our der!!!

    Y.I.W

    Reply

Leave a Reply

