First Day of Classes

So to follow-up about the speech it went really well 🙂

When I went to the office, instead of butchering the speech like I assumed they would, the teacher’s just checked it one last time for grammar errors. They also kept a copy for themselves to translate into english, Japanese, and Korean to have one a slide behind me while I spoke. Here’s my speech for any interested readers who read Chinese (I was quite proud of it~):

各位老师、各位同学:大家下午好!

我是美国南佛罗里达大学四年级的学生,我的中文名字叫陆梦生(陆是大陆的陆。。梦。。生)。今天,我带着一种收获的喜悦代表学生发言,我的心情非常激动。同学们,你们一定是因为对中文和中国文化有浓厚的兴趣,才来到南开大学学习的。
首先,我来介绍一下我在中国的经历与感受。零八年奥运会的开幕式实在是让人叹为观止,这让我开始对中国这个国家感兴趣。但我认为要欣赏中国的文化特色就一定要先学习汉语。这已经是我第三次来中国了,但是每次来我都只是呆了几个星期。每次回到美国,我总是期待能再来中国欣赏这儿的文化和风俗。所以这一次我想呆一年。因为我认为只有较长的时间才能真正感受到一个地方的魅力。今年,我很荣幸能有这个机会在南开大学学习一年。我们的同学中可能有人是第一次来到中国,也可能有的同学已经在中国呆了一段时间了,然而无论我们的留学经历、汉语水平或者文化背景有多少不同,但是我们的目标是相同的,那就是,努力学好中文,感受中国文化的魅力。我希望我们大家互相学习,天天都学会不同的东西。另外
我也希望通过在汉语学院的学习,我们能够成为好朋友,建立终生的友谊。

我相信在老师们的帮助下,新的学年我们一定会迅速地提高我们的汉语水平,同时更深入地了解中国文化。老师们,让我首先代表所有的学生对你们表示衷心的感谢。。。请大家为老师们鼓掌。

最后,我想祝大家万事如意,身体健康,谢谢大家!

Right after the speech, there were words from the Dean, a police officer (to explain about Tianjin laws), and we separated into different classrooms based on our Chinese levels. So I still tested into Advanced-high, so I went in there and it was all Japanese/Korean people and me…which means their reading and writing will be amazing, because both countries regularly use Chinese characters. But oh well, guess I will just have to try harder. During the meeting, the teachers gave us a break down of the syllabus and our class schedules. I like the way it looks because I have afternoon classes Mondays and Tuesdays and morning ones on Wednesdays and Thursdays. To celebrate the last Friday before jail classes start, Avi, a new Japanese friend, Korean friend, and I went searching for a club. Our first stop was the Italian section of Tianjin, but there were only bars there…not good enough. So we asked around and heard about this place called Boiling. It had great music, as every Chinese club does, but the crowd was kind of weak. We got a table there and danced around, and talked up a manager, but he could only a discount on alcohol, not a free table…so on to the next club!

There was a place right around the corner called Babi Club, it was much better but to be honest, I feel like a middle-aged woman, so done with clubbing and ready to settle down!! Haha, but not in a marriage way, just to not go clubbing for a few months at least.

The rest of the weekend was spent running errands and cleaning, we also had a wonderful meal with our Chinese teacher from USF (he paid of course). This morning, I had the first-day of school butterflies. I had everything lined up and ready in my bag, pencil holder, electronic dictionary, notebooks, and even tea mug (I’m truly Chinese now haha) was ready. Class itself was better than I hoped, my classmates and I are all around the same level, and I’m not the worst as I feared! I learned some new useful grammar structures and words, from the teachers teaching styles I can tell this will be a fun school year…..at least that’s what I say now~

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 16:41:31

    That is so awesome that you tested as high as the Koreans/Japanese 😀 what was their reaction when you walked through the door? Or maybe they already expected it because they heard your speech. Speaking of the speech, did you get any praise from it afterwards?

    Reply

  2. julienleyre
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 04:10:20

    Hey, good luck with your life in Tianjin. I was there myself for about 7 weeks, teaching at Alliance Francaise in the old Tianjin Shifan Daxue. Great city, if polluted, and tough at times.
    I found a lovely little cute cafe, on Harbin Lu, at the corner with Dagu Bei Lu. Very nice people. Recommended, for a ‘Audrey Hepburn’ moment.
    Anyway, I’ll look at your adventures. Enjoy!

    Reply

    • marshabarsha
      Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:51:55

      Thanks for the tip 🙂
      Tianjin is definitely different from the “China” that I’m used to, I spent so much time in Qingdao that everytime I go somewhere else I get a shock. The different feel of this city might come from the fact that it was controlled by a whopping total of eight countries in it’s history, it has many more western restaurants that’s for sure, haha. I can tell that there will be good and hard times here, but I look forward to them all~

      Reply

Leave a Reply

