Thanks A Bunch China

Going online here is hard enough, but they just had to make it harder.

The first year I came here, summer 2009, was the summer they decided to ban Facebook for a “few months”. It’s because it was the 25th anniversary of the Tiananmen Square incident, and the government did not want forums where people could decide to make a protest. I guess they loved it so much that Facebook is still banned here….why change a good thing, right?

Last year, YouTube was a goner as well, as well as most blogging websites, such as blogspot and online forums (that weren’t Chinese that is). Lucky for me, I have an amazing University that has a VPN program in place. All I have to do is log in with my student id and my IP address changes to an on-campus one. All of my problems solved! Except it does make the internet slower when I’m on, so I don’t go on that much. WordPress was one of the only blog websites I didn’t have to get around a ban for….unfortunately, that has seemed to change. Sometime in the last few days I guess we’ve become risqué enough to warrant the Big Bad Banned list. Sigh, oh well just another day, haha.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roz
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 00:31:21

    You have a nice blog, very interesting. I use to travel to china in the 80’s for business.. I wasn’t much older than you. I am an African American woman from the midwest. I been reading several BLOGS recently about china because I ran into a old boyfirend whom is chinese.

    I am amazed that not much has changed since the 80’s, but it seems people from other countries are more welcome. Do you find this to be the case as an African American?

    I am planning a 3 week vacation back to China next year. I am just trying to get a feel of what I can expect.

    Thank you

    Reply

    • marshabarsha
      Oct 24, 2011 @ 15:04:03

      China suprises me with the changes it makes year-to-year, so it will be a great shock for you…I can’t even imagin what it was like in the ’80’s haha. Which part did you stay in then, and where do you plan to visit now? I would assume that it is more welcoming now, I still get a lot of stares, but none of them hostile. It’s probably because they are now used to black men, but women are still considered rare. Another sad fact is it’s easy to be an African-American here than just an African. There are still bad connotations associated with them for some reason, I have met some Africans who are “French” rather than state their actual country. By the way, can you speak chinese?

      🙂 Also, I’m glad you enjoy reading the blog~

      Reply

      • Roz
        Oct 25, 2011 @ 13:36:40

        I have read several other BLOGS and from what I have read, not much has changed since the 80’s in China. I use to get a lot of stares and people wanted to take my picture all the time when I was there, which was embrassing because I am a bit of a shy person. That use to really bother me. It was really rare for an African American woman to travel there. Plus, I was young and a Sr. Buyer for my employer.

        I recently ran into an old boyfriend who is Chinese. He use to be a translator for the company I worked for, and use to travel with me throughout Asia as my guide. Anyway, we have discussed taking a vacation to China next year. I am not sure what part yet. We are still debating. We use to travel throughout China, but the providence of Shandong / Qingdao comes to mind at the moment. That was one of the area I went to a great deal. I only spoke a few words of Chinese at the time, which is why I had a translator / guide with me at all times.

        It should be very interesting to travel there again 20 years later …Thank you..

      • marshabarsha
        Oct 28, 2011 @ 12:07:27

        Oh yeah, the picture takking still occurs, but mostly at major tourist sites, because those people are probably from a small town, and have their cameras out there already, haha. If you don’t want to do it though, you could say no, though i understand why that might make you uncomfortable. I, on the otherhand, enjoy the spotlight (hence my “Beyonce of Tianjin” post), so it’s not really on my list of negatives. Though, I can guarantee that you won’t get as many stares as you got in the ’80s!!

        That’s awesome, you ran into him and you’re going to China? That’s really cool, and if you go to Qingdao it will be sure to be a good time. I love that city so much, and am going back there once winter break sets me free 😛 haha.

      • roz
        Oct 28, 2011 @ 23:18:07

        Yes, friend (old boyfriend) found me on Facebook actually, and we have been talking for the last 4-6 months. He is chinese, and use to travel with me throughout Asia as a translator & guide. Anyway, we both still love to travel and we thought it would be great to come and hangout in China again for old time sake… We will be planning that over the next couple of months.

        I been trying to get an ideal of what its like there now compared to the 0’s. So, I will kinda know what to expect when we visit there next year..

Leave a Reply

