Hong Kong~

Hong Kong!! I have arrived, haha.

Travelling here was so non-horrendous that I thought I was dreaming. We left for Beijing last night, and we got in too late to take the subway to the airport (trains stop around 10:30 there), so we found a 24 hour restaurant nearby to spend the night. The food was good and cheap (I only spent around 15 RMB) and we spent the rest of the night watching movies and TV shows. I fell asleep around 3 am, so Nastya woke me up at 5:20 to catch the first subway train to the airport. We arrived at our terminal around 6:30 (our flight wasn’t until 8:50, but with international flights getting there two hours early is the standard. The was no line to checking in our bags, my luggage was (for once) not over the granted limit, security took 10 minutes, and we left Mainland China with no hitch. The plane even boarded exactly on time, no delay at all. We were both asleep before takeoff and stayed that way all the way until we touched down in Hong Kong, haha.

My best, Chinese friend, Sun Tong picked us up at the airport and took the bus with us to our hostel, she is so sweet. She has been living in Hong Kong for the last 6 months studying for her Masters, she likes it but still prefers Northern China. Looking around the city as we drove in, it reminded me of every movie I’ve ever seen that took place in South East Asia (like in Thailand/Vietnam), the stores were so small and numerous, tropical trees and plants. The Southern weather feels like a God send after the terribly cold Tianjin and Beijing. The people here are not as friendly as Northerners, but it’s probably because of their fast paced lives, not to mention living here is CRAZY expensive, the only things cheaper in Hong Kong are name brand clothes, and electronics….those are great buys.

After getting settled in Sun Tong treated us to Hong Kong’s specialty noodles, called Che Zai Noodles (车仔面), which was delicious. Then we took the subway to 旺角 to go to an amazing shopping mall. It is a heavenly 12 floors, and the shops all had sales. I originally intended not to buy anything, but come on, with 50% sales who can resist. I bought some new makeup, socks, lotion, hair accessories, a new pair of boots, and a really cute top from H&M, I was proud of myself, I only spent 350 Hong Kong dollars. We walked around and found other shops as well, it was a really fun girls night out. By the time we got back to our hostel, around 10:30pm, we were exhausted. Today we plan to visit the History Museum, it’s right around the corner from us, and meet up with my friend Justin. We met in America last year and he’s from Hong Kong, so I can’t wait to see where he takes us tonight 🙂

Things I’ve noticed:

The dollar bills in Hong Kong are cute/strange. The 10 dollar bill is so pretty, in silver and purple and has a transparent part that makes it cool. Also, they 1000 dollar bills….I kid you not.

People are shorter

Indian and African men standing on the streets are creepy, they are either trying to hit on you or sell you something.

The air is cleaner than in Mainland, I felt myself getting light-headed yesterday with all of this fresh air….it’s more than a girl can handle.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Diana
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 08:46:47

    OMG! I’m soo jealous you are in Hong Kong right now! Lucky wench 🙂 I’m glad you had a normal traveling experience this time though. I told Stephan about our HORRIBLE traveling experiences (walking around Korea for an hour with my wheel-less suitcase, the river we had to swim to get to the tier 2 party, and getting to shanghai w/o a phone, the address to our hotel, and only 200 kuai…HOT MESS!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

