Back To School

What is school like in China?

Every college within the university likes to keep separate, so depending on one’s major you may find it hard to interact with others outside of your major. For example, the Chinese Language Department has it’s own math classes, English classes, economic classes, etc, even though it would make more sense to let the Math Department or whatever handle that. I heard that it has something to do with the way tuition is given; students pay their departments, not the college itself.  I have to admit, going to University here reminds me strongly of my high school years. Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors each have a set class list, with only two or three elective classes to chose from. Due to the distinct class separation, most people hang out with people from their own years, I’ve had a lot of people ask, “How did you become friends with her (a Freshman)?” Also, there are bells to signify the beginning/end of a class period. Did I mention that there is also a lunch bell? It’s definitely a throwback, and I do enjoy the freedom of the American college system, but I don’t hate the Chinese way either. I guess it’s just different, and having different experiences help shape us into better people.

Personal Update:

I went into the Chinese Department yesterday to solve a problem, I am an “International student” and we have our own classes separate from international students actually majoring in the four year program here at Nankai. My problem was that I finished the highest level offered to “International students” and so the only next step is to take classes with the normal undergraduates. I’m excited to do it, but I forgot to check when the undergrads start classes, which apparently was yesterday. Not a problem though, because I can’t even start until registration for the “International students” opens up on the 27th, so I guess I’m starting a week earlier than planned, but I am excited to start classes again and feel the pressure to study seriously 😛

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ubezpieczenie wspolnoty mieszkaniowej
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 13:29:22

    Ciekawy artykuł powinni go przeczytać wszyscy którzy chcą się dowiedzieć czegoś na ten temat.^&*$

    Reply

  2. Elektryk
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 03:43:25

    Czytałem o tym wcześniej ale dopiero teraz zgłębiłem temat brawo dla autora tego artykułu.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

