Family Time!

Ok, I swear I’m working on the Nanjing TV show post (don’t stone me yet!), but i have to make a short post about my family coming to visit me in under a month. I am soooooo excited, we talked for hours this morning about specific timelines and plans. By visiting family includes one of my favorite cousins, Wendy (she has a much lighter skin tone than me, so I wonder what race everyone here will think she is….full white?), my older sister, Stephanie (she commutes to college and lives with our overly strict parents, so I can’t wait to see her carefree and travelling), and my little sister Diana (the one who learns Chinese as well, and was with me last summer). The four of us can make anything into a funny situation. When it comes to me and my sisters I always tell all of my friends that it’s like hanging out with me, but times three. And trust me, I’m kind of crazy (in a good way!) on my own. Nevertheless, I have yet to meet someone who was a friend of one of us, who didn’t love the rest of us. Wendy is crazy, funny in a more low-key manner, she can get shy around people she doesn’t know but gets into schemes easily enough. Actually, she has never partied before so I can’t wait to corrupt enlighten her. We are going to take Tianjin, Beijing, and Qingdao by storm!

Also, Stephanie was an aspiring writer when she was little (wrote a lot of awesome short stories and novels) and I’m going to force her to let her write a few guest posts. Hopefully, she can help readers see China from a non-biased stand point…I’m sure you guys will enjoy it~

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 02:16:05

    HI I’ve been reading this blog for a wanted and wanted to ask a couple questions if you don’t mind.
    I’m starting college and Mandarin was one of the classes but everyone says that the language is so hard I’ll probably fail.
    So when did you start learning Mandarin and was it very difficult for you?
    Did you start out doing very well or did it take some time for you to start advancing?

    Reply

    • marshabarsha
      Apr 29, 2012 @ 17:24:08

      Of course I don’t mind, would you mind telling me which school you’re planning on taking Chinese in? Not to be nosy but just to get an idea, becasue in the Chinese learning world is quite small and I might know if your program is a good or bad one~ And I think the key to learning a language well is interest (that’s the most important, I used to study two hours a day and make flash cards just becasue I thought it was fun…crazy right?) and the teachers, I got lucky and had an AMAZING professor, I hope you have as much luck as I did~ And to answer your question: I started Chinese during my Freshman year, Fall 2008. I was always at the top of my class but it was mostly because I enjoyed studying it as I mentioned above. I’m sure you will do great!

      Reply

    • Diana
      Apr 29, 2012 @ 18:40:34

      Hi Nana. I’m Marsha’s younger sister. I’m a sophmore in college now and currently in my 4th semester of Mandarin. Just wanted to answer your question and give you a different perspective of learning the language. Not to gas Marsha up but she is a great student and really put in the time and effort in learning the language. That is probably why she has gotten so far with it. I, on the other hand, am not so diligent in my studies. I usually only study right before class (bad, I know lol). Don’t get me wrong I still have a lot more to learn, but I would say that I keep up pretty good with the language. And that is because I watch a lot of Chinese TV shows and have a lot of Chinese friends outside of class. I would say you should definitely keep up with your studies but also interact with other Chinese people outside of the classroom. It will be hard at first but you can get through it. Good luck!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

